Trading Facebook for twenty dollars

I sold my Facebook shares at around $20 a decade ago... today it’s at $335.

So I’m clearly the last person you should listen to about how to invest in stocks.

No worries, I won’t be telling you that. You can get that “advice” EVERYWHERE.

Everyone talks about how to invest and all their massive wins, but they don't tell you about the failures and the pitfalls.

After 20+ years in the game, I've made most of these errors myself, so let me share with you a strategy to avoid the top mistakes investors often make:

  1. Expecting massive returns: Over-optimism leads to poor choices. Be realistic.

  2. Ignoring long-term goals: It's not just about quick wins. Plan for the future.

  3. Not diversifying: Keep your asset portfolio varied to mitigate risks. Diversify.

  4. Ignoring fees: Fees WILL significantly impact your investment over time. Limit them.

  5. Trading excessively: Frequent trading often leads to underperformance. Stop it.

  6. Chasing highs and selling lows: It's an emotional response to market swings. Avoid it.

  7. Overreacting to media: It's all propaganda anyway. Even real news is already too late to trade on.

  8. Not reviewing holdings: Keep track of your investments to ensure they align with your goals.

  9. Misunderstanding risk: You must know what risk means and know your risk tolerance.

  10. Not considering inflation: Inflation will significantly erode your investment's real value over time.

  11. Blindly chasing high yields: High returns often come with high risks. Refer to #9.

  12. Procrastinating on investing: The sooner you start, the more you can leverage the power of compounding.

Investing is a journey, not a race. Avoid these common errors, and you’re on your way to smarter investing.

To your financial success,
Brian Orr

P.S. Mistakes are often our most valuable lessons. But they don’t always have to be YOUR mistakes.

Let me know if I can help in an email reply or DM me on social.